EU, Canada imposes new sanction package against Russia

European Union and Canada introduced a large-scale package of sanctions against Russia in light of the anniversary of the start of the special military operation of the Russian Federation in Ukraine,  reports citing Mehrnews.

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau also announced that Ottawa has imposed a ban on the export to Russia of certain chemicals used in the production of electronics.

Canada imposed sanctions against 129 Russians, including members of the government, the military, representatives of the military-industrial sector, as well as 63 legal entities, including the Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation, ministers, employees of the presidential administration, the military and those involved in the production of artillery and weapons used in Ukraine.

As reported on the website of the Canadian Foreign Ministry, a number of Russian enterprises and government agencies have been added to the sanctions lists, in particular the United Russia party, the Main Directorate for Special Programs of the President of the Russian Federation, the State Duma, the Federation Council, the Federal Service of Financial Monitoring, Rosneftegaz, Uralvagonzavod, the United Machinery Group.

Canada imposed sanctions on the main shareholder of Severstal Alexey Mordashov and his family members.

The sanctions list included the Soviet hockey player, president of the Russian Ice Hockey Federation (FHR) and State Duma deputy Vladislav Tretyak and the world's first female cosmonaut, State Duma deputy Valentina Tereshkova. Restrictions were also introduced against the world's second female cosmonaut, State Duma deputy Svetlana Savitskaya.

You Might Also Like