In a very brief, almost sarcastic manner, the company said: “*checks calendar. pours coffee*. OK. Let’s do this. No, we can’t see your personal messages. No, we won’t delete your account. Yes, you can accept at any time.”
It sparked a global outcry and sent users to rival apps Telegram and Signal, among others, prompting WhatsApp to delay the new policy launch to May and to clarify the update was focused on allowing users to message with businesses and that it would not affect personal conversations. The company also conducted a damage control campaign to explain the changes it made to users.